Book Review: The Sea Sisters – Lucy Clarke

Title: The Sea Sisters

Author: Lucy Clarke

Pages: 388

Publisher: Harper Collins

Published: May 2013

sea sisters

Blurb: 

Two sisters, one life-changing journey…

There are some currents in the relationship between sisters that run so dark and so deep, it’s better for the people swimming on the surface never to know what’s beneath . . .

Katie’s carefully structured world is shattered by the news that her headstrong younger sister, Mia, has been found dead in Bali – and the police claim it was suicide.

With only the entries of Mia’s travel journal as her guide, Katie retraces the last few months of her sister’s life, and – page by page, country by country – begins to uncover the mystery surrounding her death.

What she discovers changes everything. But will her search for the truth push their sisterly bond – and Katie – to breaking point?

The Sea Sisters is a compelling story of the enduring connection between sisters.

Review:

I have to admit to being a huge fan of this book from the very beginning, I really felt a connection with both the female leads and as an only child I found their relationship fascinating.

The story is written in such an intriging way so as we learn about  the sisters relationships both in Katie’s current voice and Mia’s past tense voice from the writings in her journal. It’s definitely a new perspective that I’ve not encountered before and I really did enjoy it, I didn’t find it jarred me from one person’s perspective to another as it has done in other books written from a dual perspective where I have sometimes found myself lost and having to skip back pages to find out where the stories meet or who a character is. I thought the two girls stories were very well interwoven and the diary aspect was a great way to bring the two aspects together in one story.

I loved the complex relationships within this book and I felt that it was what really brought it to life for me, they are scattered throughout the novel and not wishing to give any spoilers away the sea sisters  is not the only complicated sibling relationship we encounter in the telling of this story.

The other aspect of the book which really drew me in were the author’s descriptions of the places the sisters travelled, this is a book that will appeal to anyone with a love or lust for travel. The way that each place is described in two different narratives is very interesting as each sister has a mostly different take on each place which I found interesting as I know that if my best friend and I both went somewhere there is a large chance we would both take something different away from the place and would also see it differently and it would appeal to different aspects of our personalities, which is what happened with Mia and Katie.

This book was a complete page turner for me and one that definitely took me on an emotional journey and it has been a long time since a novel pulled on my heart strings as much as this one did. I remember getting to the end and just thinking wow I feel pretty drained right now but it is without a doubt a novel I would recommend to anyone. You won’t regret joining The Sea Sisters on their journey to find out more about not only themselves but each other.

5/5

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sea Sisters – Lucy Clarke

Leave a Reply

