Book Review: When You Walked Back Into My Life – Hilary Boyd

Title : When You Walked Back Into My Life

Author: Hilary Boyd

Pages: 432

Publisher: Quercus

walked into my life

Blurb:

For eight years Flora’s love affair with Fin was a whirlwind of fun and spontaneity – but when Flora wanted to settle down and have children, Fin vanished.

Life moved on and Flora’s world filled with other people, other cares. There were benefits to being single – no socks under the bed, no mess in the bathroom – even if the memory of Fin could never be completely erased.

But then suddenly, shockingly, Fin reappears. He’s a changed man, he says, and her wants her back. Is this a chance to put right the wrongs? Or a massive mistake?

Review:

This is the first of Hilary Boyd’s novels I have read and after having her books recommended to me I felt that this was possibly not the one to start with.

I’m sure it’s exactly the point of his character but I really did find the character of Fin absolutely abhorrent. Selfish, lazy and arrogant he just truly ruined the book for me, I actually considered giving up on the book entirely for fear I was going to throw it in a fit of rage at just how irritating I found him.

I did however like Flora and I found that in some ways I really related to her. We’ve all had that boyfriend who we dreamed would come back, or the one we gave just one too many chances to and she epitomised those feelings for me. I found myself rooting for her throughout the book and willing her to just open her eyes and truly see Fin. Her caring nature with Dorothea the old lady she is nursing was sweet and at parts of the novel did make my eyes a little shiny.

Although I did enjoy the character or Flora and a lot of the peripheral characters with their side stories this book wasn’t a winner for me. I saw the majority of the ending coming far too soon for my liking and I also felt that considering we spent so long trawling through Flora and Fin’s romance such as it is, that the ending came about in just a little too rushed a fashion for me. I thought a bit more time could have been spent making sure the ends were tied up a little better rather than the book feeling like it had slightly run out of time and coming to a galloping end.

All in all a disappointing first foray into Boyd’s writing for me but I will try again with another of her novels as my friends are rarely wrong about their book recommendations.

2.5/5

One thought on “Book Review: When You Walked Back Into My Life – Hilary Boyd

  1. Nice review – it is important to be honest, and I know what you mean about a character being too irritating to bear, even when you know that is the point of their existence lol!!! (note – I HAVE actually given up on books for this very reason before now ha ha) Good luck with the next one, hope it’s a better fit 🙂 All the best x

    Like

Leave a Reply

